Give Us This Day Our Daily Bread

Image

“She went away and did as Elijah had told her. So there was food every day for Elijah and for the woman and her family. For the jar of flour was not used up and the jug of oil did not run dry, in keeping with the word of the Lord spoken by Elijah.”1 Kings  17:15-16

Today I see true worship of our King as three of my dear friend’s Jeanette, Jen and Denise, arrive at the Holloway Road Car Boot Sale in the wee hours of Saturday morning, with a boot-load of stuff and Jeanette’s 12 week old baby in tow. I see true worship as single mum Karman and her baby Oscar come early to sell the little they have for Missions. I see true worship as my other dear friend Maria arrives early to my house to watch my kids so that I can join the girls at the sale. I see true worship as 12 valiant men and women gather in my home that same morning along with my brave husband to walk the streets of London singing and shaking buckets for Jesus. I see true worship as many others are busy too looking for ways to give so that God can bless our efforts to spread this beautiful, wonderful, glorious gospel to the corners of the earth.
Out of our little, God blessed us today with hundreds of pounds raised.  Our jars are full indeed.
“Those who can venture upon the promise of God, will make no difficulty to expose and empty themselves in his service, by giving him his part first. Surely the increase of this widow’s faith, so as to enable her thus readily to deny herself, and to depend upon the Divine promise, was as great a miracle in the kingdom of grace, as the increase of her meal and oil in the kingdom of providence. Happy are all who can thus, against hope, believe and obey in hope. “
 (Matthew Henry in his commentary of 1 Kings 17)
Leave a Reply

